Raumfahrt - Former NASA Astronauts to Receive Congressional Space Medal of Honor



NASA astronauts Douglas Hurley (left) and Robert Behnken (right) participate in a dress rehearsal for launch at the agency’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida on May 23, 2020, ahead of NASA’s SpaceX Demo-2 mission to the International Space Station. Demo-2 served as an end-to-end flight test of SpaceX’s crew transportation system, providing valuable data toward NASA certifying the system for regular, crewed missions to the orbiting laboratory under the agency’s Commercial Crew Program.
Credits: NASA

Editor's Note: This advisory was updated Tuesday, Jan. 31, to reflect the correct time for the Congressional Space Medal of Honor ceremony at 4:25 p.m. EST.

Vice President Kamala Harris will award former NASA astronauts Douglas Hurley and Robert Behnken the Congressional Space Medal of Honor at 4:25 p.m. EST on Tuesday, Jan. 31. Hurley and Behnken will receive the award for bravery in NASA’s SpaceX Demonstration Mission-2 (Demo-2) to the International Space Station in 2020.


The ceremony will air on NASA Television, the agency’s website, and the NASA app, as well as the agency’s flagship TwitterFacebook, and YouTube channels.


Limited pre-credentialed media will join pooled press for the event.


On May 30, 2020, a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket carrying the company’s Crew Dragon spacecraft launched to the space station, marking the first mission to launch with astronauts as part of NASA’s Commercial Crew Program.

Quelle: NASA

Raumfahrt+Astronomie-Blog von CENAP 0